top of page
  • Writer's pictureAbstract Books

REVIEW - What Lies Beyond The Veil


Title - What Lies Beyond The Veil
Author - Harper L. Woods
Name of Series - Flesh & Bone Series #1
Series Type - Series
Genre - Dark Fantasy Romance
Release Date - 22nd Feb 2022
Overall Rating - ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
Heat Rating - 🔥🔥🔥🔥

Once, we’d worshipped them as Gods.


For nearly 400 years, the Veil has protected us from the Fae of Alfheimr. In their absence, our lives have shifted from decadence and sin to survival and virtue under the guidance of the New Gods. I’ve spent my entire life tending to the gardens next to the boundary between our worlds, drawn to the shimmering magic like a moth to the flame.


Then, we died on their swords.


All of that changes the day the Veil shatters, unleashing the fae upon our world once again. The magic of faerie marks those of us they mean to take, but the Mist Guard protecting Nothrek will kill us all before they let the fae have us. There’s no choice but to flee everything I’ve ever known, not if I want to live to see my twenty-first birthday as a free woman.


Now, they’ll claim what’s theirs.


But before they capture me, Caelum saves me from the Wild Hunt. Fae-marked and on the run, he is able to fight back in ways I only dream of. From tentative alliance to all-consuming passion, our bond strengthens as the fae close in and evil lurks ever nearer. With my life on the line, he is everything I shouldn’t dare to want and a distraction I can’t afford. I can’t seem to stay away, not even with something greater on the line.


My heart.


Author’s Note: This book is intended for readers who are 18 and older. It contains mature language, graphic violence, and explicit content with darker elements. This is book one in a series and ends in a cliffhanger.


Purchase Links 💋



My Review 💋


Star Rating : 4.5/5 Stars


POV : Single (Third POV)


Cliffhanger : YESSS (huge one lmao)


Hero : Caelum


Heroine : Estrella


Pace of the story : Moderate


Angst Rating : 5/10


Heat Rating : 6/10


Triggers Involved : Past Trauma (Violence , assault (not by the hero))


Plot Summary :

Estrella knows what it is to sacrifice for her family. She endures the pain her master unleashes on her and doesn't say anything but it's the final straw for her when she is asked to marry him. She will rather die than do that. And that is exactly what is planned to happen. It is marrying or death. So she chooses death. But then everything changes. The day she is supposed to die, turns into a nightmare, making her the most wanted target of her kingdom. With her and her brother on a run, there is nowhere for her to go. So she stalks the forest where they hide from the people who hunt.


Another tragedy staggers her and now the only person she has to rely on is one of the runners himself. Caelum is what he calls himself. He wants her. He protects her. He cherishes her. But there is a darkness in him that she can't deny. Something ancient peeking from his eyes. Something she knows is much more than what she can handle. A part of her knows that the man whom her soul loves and wants so much is not what he says. And now it might be too late. Because she was already his.


Overall Opinion :

Okay so you might not believe me but this book is literally this author's first fantasy romance. First, Like wow. It's just so good! Adelaide you are made for this genre. A part of me knew that plot twist was coming, that the ending would be shocking but holy hell I was not prepared for the intensity of it!! That twist, omg, I NEED THE NEXT BOOK NOW!!


This series is literally going to be the dream book of all blood and ash series lovers. Both the series have a lot in common, just this series characters are a bit older and the storyline is also vastly different. Don't even get me started on the hero. Like omg, he is so hot! And that ending? Let me just say that I am going crazy for book two because I know in this book we got to see his sweet side. But in the next book we will have something much more ruthless and I CAN'T WAIT!!


Definitely recommending this series to all the dark fantasy romance lovers. I am very obsessed with this world now and am counting days until the next book comes because omg ,this is gold! It has steam, suspense, heat, romance, darkness and so much more!



Related Posts

See All
—Pngtree—black watercolor brush fashion woman_5103611_edited.png

Hey there! I am the owner of ABSTRACT BOOKS. Thank you so much for visiting my website and I hope you find lots of amazing books here!

BookCollage-Verticla_edited_edited.jpg

Confused on how to Browse My Blog??

Rating Grid (4).png

Don't Worry , I have created a detailed guide for you all so that you can see all that my site contains and how to access it all. Click on the Banner to view it!

Search Books By :

Romance
Autumn Mood
Romance in Nature
ezgif.com-gif-maker.gif
  • Facebook
  • download (1)
  • Instagram
  • pinterest_PNG60_edited
  • Twitter
bottom of page