top of page
  • Writer's pictureAbstract Books

REVIEW - The Words


Title - The Words
Author - Ashley Jade
Name of Series - Standalone
Series Type - Standalone
Genre - Contemporary Second Chance Rockstar Romance
Release Date - 20th Jan 2021
Overall Rating - ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
Heat Rating - 🔥🔥🔥🔥🔥

From USA Today and Wall Street Journal bestselling author Ashley Jade comes an edgy, enemies-to-lovers standalone romance about mistakes, forgiveness, and second chances.


He was the talented bad boy everyone wanted.

I was the irrelevant geek everyone hated.


He was the sun...drawing all of us in.

I was a black hole...taking up space.


He was destined to be a star.

I was destined to remain an insignificant no one.


Until he made me believe I was special...


And then he destroyed me.


I never thought I'd see Phoenix Walker again after he broke my heart, but fate had other plans.


One tour. Eight weeks. Forty shows.


Countless opportunities to make him pay.


The world thought he was a God...

But I knew the truth.


Purchase Links 💋



My Review 💋


Star Rating : 4.5/5 Stars


POV : Dual


Cliffhanger : None


Hero : Phoenix


Heroine : Lennon


Pace of the story : Moderate


Angst Rating : 7/10


Heat Rating : 7/10


Plot Summary :

Lennon has always had issues. She Is a bit bigger than all the girls of her age and that one thing eats her up. The consistent bullying as bad the tounts chip away at her soul. She knows she is not the type to get the boy in the end but that does stop her from looking. And what a sight Phoenix is. Phoenix Walker is every girl's dream. He is the bad boy of the campus. The one who has his own band. The one with the most melodic voice ever. And the one who will steal everything from her including her dreams.


Years ago she gave into the temptation. She believed in him when no one did. That was until he broke her. Turns out that he might be her first choice in everything but she was never his. He chose his success, his dream over her even if he had to break her in the process. She is not the innocent student from years ago and now it's time for payback. She will break Phoenix even if it's the last thing she does. She will expose him as the fraud he is and won't stop until he owns up to the ways he broke her and stole from her.


Overall Opinion :

Holy shit. Like I don't think there is another author who can match the level of angst that Ashley Jade has. Her books have this steam and this amazing plotline that never fails to keep me hooked till the very end. She forced me to pull an all-nighter just so I could finish this baby because I COULDN'T STOP ONCE I STARTED!!


Phoenix is love. Like each one of Ashley's heroes are so cold and they are the ultimate bad boys, age was no less. But once they give you these glimpses of pain and their suffering, you can't help but fall for them. Phoenix and Lennon have a story which will pull your heartstrings and before you know it you'll have another book for your top shelf!


Another thing that I loved was her style of twisting the tales of the side characters in between and I couldn't help but obsess over them too! I want their story so bad. I already have the couples made in my head lmao 😂


Definitely recommending this standalone angsty enemies to lovers romance to all the contemporary romance loving people out there. Ashley had me hooked from the very first page and I hope the same happens to you all!



Related Posts

See All
—Pngtree—black watercolor brush fashion woman_5103611_edited.png

Hey there! I am the owner of ABSTRACT BOOKS. Thank you so much for visiting my website and I hope you find lots of amazing books here!

BookCollage-Verticla_edited_edited.jpg

Confused on how to Browse My Blog??

Rating Grid (4).png

Don't Worry , I have created a detailed guide for you all so that you can see all that my site contains and how to access it all. Click on the Banner to view it!

Search Books By :

Romance
Autumn Mood
Romance in Nature
ezgif.com-gif-maker.gif
  • Facebook
  • download (1)
  • Instagram
  • pinterest_PNG60_edited
  • Twitter
bottom of page