top of page
  • Writer's pictureAbstract Books

Review - The Hate Between Us


Title - The Hate Between Us
Author - Vera Hollins
Name of Series - Standalone
Series Type - Standalone
Genre - contemporary Romance
Release Date - 11th March 2022
Overall Rating - ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
Heat Rating - 🔥🔥🔥🔥

One moment. That’s all it takes for your life to do a one-eighty. One moment to have your dreams shattered and freedom stolen. One moment to forget who you are.


The night Caroline Adams decided to drive drunk and ended up striking me as I stood on the sidewalk was when that moment happened to me. Nothing has been the same since.


In a wheelchair and broken, I’ve started my senior year at Lake Gate High, where I have to deal with the humiliating stares and whispers. Moreover, I have to see him—Jason Adams, Caroline’s brother.


He doesn’t hide the fact that he hates me for being the reason Caroline ended up in juvenile detention, and that he wants me to stay away from him. But that might prove to be impossible when we’re cast as the leads in our school play and that line between us gets blurred.


But I won’t let my old feelings for him resurface.


Not when he’s a jerk.


Not when that moment keeps haunting me and reminding me of the darkness.


The darkness of that night I might never be able to escape from.


This book includes sensitive themes and situations that may be triggering for some readers, so caution is advised.


Purchase Links 💋


PRE-ORDER LINKS – $2.99 for a limited time!



Only available at the following for a limited time



My Review 💋


Star Rating : 4.5/5 Stars


POV : Dual


Cliffhanger : None


Hero : Jason


Heroine : Katie


Pace of the story : Moderate


Angst Rating : 6/10


Heat Rating : 5/10


Triggers Involved : to be updated after release


Plot Summary :

Katie never had an easy life but things really took a turn for the bad when Caroline, who was a younger girl than her, got drunk one night and ended up crashing into her. She lost control of her legs and everything went to shit. Her dreams, her whole life. High school was a nightmare. The one boy she had a crush on, now hated her. Jason, Caroline's older brother. He blamed her for his problems even though it should be the other way. His constant taunts and cruel words ruined her already fragile mental state.


That is until they are both cast into a play, forced to play the lead roles. They have to act together, get to know each other and that might be the one thing which will solve their problems and she will see Jason in a bigger light and the same for him too. Her tormentor might become the one man who will make her feel again, if only she could trust him with her heart again.


Overall Opinion :

I have been waiting for this book forever! Like, I read the blurb and knew I had to have this one because it just called to me. A sweet heroine and a cruel hero with bullying and eventual redemption? Count me in!


Jason was just so cruel lmao. Like I wouldn't say that he bullied her, he did not go out of his way to play pranks on her or to humiliate her but he was just plain cruel. His sentences and everything he said was cruel. He wanted to hurt her and break her, and he certainly accomplished that because Katie was already fragile.


This one was not a dark romance but more of a contemporary romance with a lot of triggers that I will update after the book's release. I loved this book a lot for a one time read. The grovel was good and the slow burn romance was the best part. That twist at the end was totally shocking to me because I did not see that coming , the author did an amazing job with that.


Definitely recommending this one to all the contemporary romance loving people out there. If you like genres like enemies to lovers, second chances, grovel and slow burn, then go for this one but keep in mind that it does have a lot of triggers and some triggering scenes described in huge detail.



Related Posts

See All
—Pngtree—black watercolor brush fashion woman_5103611_edited.png

Hey there! I am the owner of ABSTRACT BOOKS. Thank you so much for visiting my website and I hope you find lots of amazing books here!

BookCollage-Verticla_edited_edited.jpg

Confused on how to Browse My Blog??

Rating Grid (4).png

Don't Worry , I have created a detailed guide for you all so that you can see all that my site contains and how to access it all. Click on the Banner to view it!

Search Books By :

Romance
Autumn Mood
Romance in Nature
ezgif.com-gif-maker.gif
  • Facebook
  • download (1)
  • Instagram
  • pinterest_PNG60_edited
  • Twitter
bottom of page