top of page
  • Writer's pictureAbstract Books

REVIEW - The Dark Protector


Title - The Dark Protector
Author - Isabella Starling
Name of Series - Kingpin's Property Trilogy #1
Series Type - Trilogy
Genre - Dark Guardian Romance
Release Date - 28th Jan 2022
Overall Rating - ⭐⭐⭐⭐
Heat Rating - 🔥🔥🔥🔥

To be his bride, I must endure a year without his cruel touch.


The man I trusted most has taken advantage of me in the worst way.


He used my innocence against me.


He stole me from my loving parents to make me a pawn in his games.


And the worst part is… He hasn’t touched me once.


While my body burns for his punishing embrace, he’s denied me the thing I want most.


But I have ways of making him do what I want, too.


After all, I’m not just his hostage.


I’m the daughter of the only woman who escaped him.


The Dark Protector is the first book of the Kingpin's Property trilogy. It is not a standalone book.

Purchase Links 💋



My Review 💋


Star Rating : 4/5 Stars


POV : Dual


Cliffhanger : yes


Hero : Xavier


Heroine : Tallulah


Pace of the story : Moderate


Angst Rating : 5/10


Heat Rating : 6/10


Triggers Involved : Kidnapping , huge age gap , taboo , humiliation


Plot Summary :

Xavier knows he is not a nice man. He never pretended to be. He is someone who is every woman's nightmare and His future wife's mother knows it. That does stop him from taking the one thing his only nephew loves. His daughter. Their first born baby will be his and there is no way he will make it easier on them. He is twisted and he is the king. He will break their daughter and enjoy every single moment of it. The clock is ticking and the moment tallulah turns 18 , he'll be there. To take. To own her. To break her in the most brutal way and make her his wife.


Overall Opinion :

God damn, that was some age gap… Xavier and his hotness made it easy for me to forget that he was the heroine's mother's ex husband. 😆 If I focused too much on that lmao, it made things weird for me. If you don't mind age gaps and twisted villains and heroes, then go for this one!


Let me make it clear that I hate this hero. Like I hated him in Heath's duet and I also know of any author who can make him redeemable, it's Isabella. I hope she gives him hell in the worst way! There is no sugar coating things. Xavier is the villain a and the hero and he makes no attempt to conceal that fact. Tallulah is in for a ride and I can't wait until she grows up!


I appreciate that the author kept that age boundary thing. Like Xavier made sure to not touch her until she was of legal age. He did kidnap her and there were a few stolen moments, but he kept his distance however you can feel his anticipation. I can practically feel the hell he'll unleash on her the moment she is of age and God save her lmao because the man is a monster.


Also, Xavier was different with Tallulah than he was with her mother . You see a tiny bit softer side of him and I hope that keeps going on because if he is like he was in Heath's book, then I honestly don't think I can like him.


Hope for the best for the future books because I am so excited!! This trilogy will be a delight and I can't wait. Recommending it to all the dark romance loving people who like tropes like age gap, kidnapping, humiliation, public humiliation, dub con, kink and so much more. I will again mention that Xavier is not a hero and if you haven't read Heath's duet where Xavier is the villain, then I am sure you'll know what I am talking about in the upcoming books!




Related Posts

See All
—Pngtree—black watercolor brush fashion woman_5103611_edited.png

Hey there! I am the owner of ABSTRACT BOOKS. Thank you so much for visiting my website and I hope you find lots of amazing books here!

BookCollage-Verticla_edited_edited.jpg

Confused on how to Browse My Blog??

Rating Grid (4).png

Don't Worry , I have created a detailed guide for you all so that you can see all that my site contains and how to access it all. Click on the Banner to view it!

Search Books By :

Romance
Autumn Mood
Romance in Nature
ezgif.com-gif-maker.gif
  • Facebook
  • download (1)
  • Instagram
  • pinterest_PNG60_edited
  • Twitter
bottom of page