top of page
  • Writer's pictureAbstract Books

REVIEW - Distorted


Title - Distorted
Author - Nyla K.
Name of Series - Alabaster Petitionary
Series Type - Series
Genre - Dark MM prison Romance
Release Date - 18th March 2021
Overall Rating - ⭐⭐⭐⭐
Heat Rating - 🔥🔥🔥🔥

This is Alabaster Penitentiary…

Where they send you when the world thinks you’re dead. And trust me, you’ll wish you were.

We’re the stain on society. The freaks, the creeps, your favorite Netflix documentaries come to life.

They lock us up and throw away the key, because we deserve it.

But not me. I’m just a lowly bank robber. I don’t belong here, surrounded by psychopaths and killers with no remorse… At least, I don’t think I do.

Getting by unscathed is my top priority. Unfortunately for me and my fellow prisoners, those in charge are more dangerous than we are.

You see, the guards run the show, and I seem to have caught the attention of the most twisted one.

He has a name, but it might as well be Officer. We move around one another like a sun and a moon, revolving in an axis of confused lust and torment until the truth is distorted, and the thing I once feared becomes that which I crave; my vile addiction, somehow so exquisite.

Reality warps in the dungeon, and I’m left wondering which prison is worse… the one holding my body, or my mind.




*DO NOT READ OR POST SPOILERS! I am begging you to think of your fellow readers, in your reviews, your posts… everywhere. Revealing plot twists is a dick move. And I promise, it’ll be fun to go in blind.


**Distorted is the first book in the Alabaster Penitentiary series. It is a full M/M romance, with HEA. Each book in this series is technically a standalone, though they are interconnected, so it will be recommended to read in order, as references to this story will be made in future books.


Distorted is intended for mature audiences and open-minded readers ONLY! If you prefer the same old story, this book won’t be for you. This story is dark, probably darker for some than others, so please proceed with caution, and if you’re easily triggered, steer clear.


You’ve been warned.


Purchase Links 💋

Free in Kindle Unlimited


My Review 💋

Star Rating : 4.5 / 5 Stars


POV : Dual


Cliffhanger : None


Hero : Dash


Hero : Officer Keplar


Pace of the story : Moderate


Angst Rating : 6/10


Heat Rating : 8/10


Triggers Involved : Non Con , Dub Con , Torture , Starvation , Humiliation


Plot Summary :

Dash made a mistake. A mere bank robbery landed him in hell. He is now stuck in Alabama pentitionary and there is nowhere for him to go. The place breeds the worst monsters and it's ruled by the guards. And Fortunate for him, he has caught the eye of the most twisted one of them.


Officer Keplar is used to being on his own. That is until he sees the pretty new recruit in the prison. That boy awakens something in him that he never knew even existed. And now he would know the brunt of that obsession. There is no way he was letting dash go. Willing or not willing.


Overall Opinion :

OMG. The twist, holy shit, this book had the best plot twist ever!! It was crazy and Dark! So very dark! Many chapters were triggering and the ending was the best part.


It's been so long since I have read and enjoyed such an utter mindfuck that I am totally consumed by it! The way Nyla has written this book is marvelous. I am not going to say anything about the storyline because the last thing I want to do is give away any spoilers, but I can warn you that this book is one hell of a ride. It was thick af and the twists and turns ate definitely not something that you'll see coming. By the 80% of this book, my mind was totally messed up and I didn't know what was happening but when things came to light I was like, Holy shit!!! So amazing!


Like I said before, this book does have a lot of triggers such as NonCon , DubCon, Captivity, Starvation and Torture. So please keep that in mind before reading this book. But trust me, the darkness aside, this book is definitely worth reading! It was more of a psychological thriller and had me totally addicted. I can't wait for more from this series and would HIGHLY RECOMMEND this book to all the DARK MM romance lovers out there!!




11 views0 comments

Related Posts

See All
—Pngtree—black watercolor brush fashion woman_5103611_edited.png

Hey there! I am the owner of ABSTRACT BOOKS. Thank you so much for visiting my website and I hope you find lots of amazing books here!

BookCollage-Verticla_edited_edited.jpg

Confused on how to Browse My Blog??

Rating Grid (4).png

Don't Worry , I have created a detailed guide for you all so that you can see all that my site contains and how to access it all. Click on the Banner to view it!

Search Books By :

Romance
Autumn Mood
Romance in Nature
ezgif.com-gif-maker.gif
  • Facebook
  • download (1)
  • Instagram
  • pinterest_PNG60_edited
  • Twitter
bottom of page