top of page
  • Writer's pictureAbstract Books

REVIEW - A Vow Of Hate

Updated: Jan 2, 2022


Title - A Vow Of Hate
Author - Laylah James
Name of Series - Standalone
Series Type - Standalone
Genre - Dark Bully Romance
Release Date - 22nd Jan 2021
Overall Rating - ⭐⭐⭐⭐
Heat Rating - 🔥🔥🔥🔥

"An all-new standalone hate-to-love, arranged marriage romance with a TWIST from Lylah James."


“Once upon a time…”


Hate consumed him.

Love wrecked me.

That night changed both our lives, turning our beginning into something toxic. We were poison together and there was no antidote.


Our story began like any other fairy tale ended.

With a beautiful wedding.

One kiss.

Two rings.

Three vows.

Killian Spencer became my lawfully wedded husband and I, his dutiful wife.


But he was no Prince Charming. He didn’t come to save me… and he vowed there would be no happily ever after.

And me?


Just like the legends I'd read as a little girl, I always thought I’d be the princess in my fairy tale.

Well, I was the villain of our love story.


“Till death do us part…”


Purchase Links 💋




My Review 💋

Star Rating : 4 / 5 Stars


POV : Dual


Cliffhanger : None


Hero : Killain. He was ruthless and very very rude. I know he was struck with grief and hate but the things that came out of that man's mouth were downright Demeaning at times. However by the end , it was him for whom I felt bad for.


Heroine : Julianna. She was a grief stricken woman who had always been in love with Killian. But he belonged to her sister. Now that her sister was dead and she was the one who killed her , there was no removing her guilt ridden state. She was barely surviving.


Pace of the story : Moderate


Angst Rating : 8/10


Heat Rating : 9/10


Triggers Involved : Verbal Abuse by the H


Plot Summary :

Killian's whole life has been destroyed now that his fiance is dead. The one woman he loved and vowed to protect is dead. The only one remaining is her sister. The one who killed his love. And now it was her turn to die. And killian was going to make that painful. There would be no stopping her from his brand of hate.


Julianna is drowning in guilt. She doesn't know how to get out it. Ever since she killed her sister , she knew there was no redemption for her. And the man she has always loved is now out to kill her. She is set to marry him and then the only thing he was going to give her would be lots of pain and suffering. That was killian's vow to her.


Overall Opinion :

Okkkkk… I will admit that this book had a killer , absolutely terrible and mind-blowing plot twist that had me shook!! The storyline was amazing and this author has written this book in a very raw and painful way. She forced you to feel every emotion specially the ton of hate these characters had. I cried with them , I laughed and I swooned , she created an amazing world for me. This one was definitely worth the wait for me.


Now the negative part of the book. Killian and rude mouth was the only thing I had a problem with. The things he said like how he called Jillian 'Beastly' because her face was scared after the incident , just made me cringe all the time. I know she killed his love but if you can't respect someone even after knowing that it was an accident , then there was no way he deserved her for me. His mourning did not excuse such behaviour for me. The way he demeaned her was downright insulting to me and that was the only bitter part in this book that I could find.


Final Verdict :

A must read for all the bully Romance lovers!!

The author made me feel all the emotions and I loved this one a lot!!

A few characteristics of the H were Demeaning but apart from that this book was perfect for me.




23 views0 comments

Related Posts

See All
—Pngtree—black watercolor brush fashion woman_5103611_edited.png

Hey there! I am the owner of ABSTRACT BOOKS. Thank you so much for visiting my website and I hope you find lots of amazing books here!

BookCollage-Verticla_edited_edited.jpg

Confused on how to Browse My Blog??

Rating Grid (4).png

Don't Worry , I have created a detailed guide for you all so that you can see all that my site contains and how to access it all. Click on the Banner to view it!

Search Books By :

Romance
Autumn Mood
Romance in Nature
ezgif.com-gif-maker.gif
  • Facebook
  • download (1)
  • Instagram
  • pinterest_PNG60_edited
  • Twitter
bottom of page